Reviews

Book Review: Snake Eyes

Fans of Teddy Roosevelt and Crime Fiction will love Snake Eyes

Author B.E. Boldman draws readers into the dusty hardscrabble world of the men who volunteer to join Teddy Roosevelt on his adventure to Cuba as Rough Riders. The men are earnest, hardworking, accomplished, and the unfortunate prey of a serial killer who silently kills the weakest among them.

The troopers assemble as eager volunteers and offer their trust to their new companions. However, one of them is a murderer and takes quite a bit of pleasure in the killing.

I loved this book! The romance of the cowboy, and in particular the Spanish-American War, immediately caught my interest. And it threw me for a loop when these soldiers become frightened prey for the killer. And what a killer! He takes pleasure in his work and believes he is working in the service of Mr. Roosevelt.

This is a fine read combining early American history with a mystery and I highly recommend it.

Now for my rating:

Cover art

The cover is lacking and reminds me of a history book about World War I. So, I would do something to liven it up. Perhaps, make it more like a pulp cover with a menacing figure coming down with a knife on a hapless victim. But that’s just me.

Where I received the book

I bought the book on Amazon after the author asked me to read it.

4-star rating

I think the content is superb and really drew me into the history of the Spanish-American War while keeping me looking for the murderer.

© 2019, Michael Shawn Sommermeyer. All rights reserved.


Thanks for reading. Leave me a comment?


Want a PDF to save this story to read later? Enter your e-mail address and I'll send you a PDF right away.

Enter your Email Address

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *